Originally Aired: October 6, 2021
Time: 9:00 am PT, 12:00 pm ET, 1800 CET

The complexity of cancer development and progression poses great challenges for treatment, with variable patient responses that all too often show low probabilities of success. A greater understanding of early target biology can offer opportunities for improved clinical translation. By placing cancer pathology within spatial and morphological context, clinical researchers can unmask the mechanisms involved, uncover new disease biomarkers, and pave the way for improved diagnostics and novel therapeutics.

In this Clinical OMICs webinar, our distinguished presenters, Dr. Anna Lyubetskaya and Dr. Eugene Drokhlyansky, will explore the potential of spatial gene expression for various applications in clinical cohorts. These applications include identifying spatial domains and tumor environment interactions, informing pathology H&E classifiers for tumor-associated features, and exploring tumor heterogeneity. In addition, our presenters will discuss the benefits and considerations for cohort building using the recent Visium for FFPE probe-based approach. Finally, they will describe a research approach that links observations from patient cohorts to mouse models to test specific discovery hypotheses.

 

A live Q&A session followed the presentations, offering a chance to pose questions to our expert panelists.

 

Produced with support from:

10x Genomics logo

Anna Lyubetskaya, PhD

Anna Lyubetskaya, PhD
Principal Scientist
Bristol Myers Squibb

 

Eugene Drokhlyansky, PhD

Eugene Drokhlyansky, PhD
Principal Scientist
Bristol Myers Squibb